[Air-l] James W. Carey Media Research Award

Mark D. Johns johnsmar at luther.edu
Wed Dec 7 13:53:07 PST 2005


James W. Carey Media Research Award

Sponsored by the
Carl Couch Center for Social and Internet Research

The Carl Couch Center invites self-nominations for works to be 
considered for its annual James W. Carey Media Research Award.  The 
Couch Center welcomes works on topics that have been central to Carey's 
scholarship.  Among others, submissions might focus on  technology, 
time, space and communications, the nature of public life, the relation 
between journalism and popular culture.  Applications will be evaluated 
based on the quality of (1) mastery of Carey’s approaches and concepts, 
(2) originality, (3) organization, (4) presentation, and (5) advancement 
of knowledge.  Evaluation will be administered by a Review Committee of six:

	Prof. Stuart Adam, Carleton University
	Prof. Theodore L. Glasser, Stanford University
	Prof. John Pauly, St. Louis University
	Prof. Jeff Pooley, Muhlenberg College
	Prof. Linda Steiner, Rutgers University
	Prof. Lance Strate, Fordham University

Both single and multiple authored works will be accepted.  All 
submissions must be works that have been published/presented or have 
been accepted for publication or presentation—that is, works that have 
been accepted for publication in a book or journal, or have been 
accepted for presentation at a competitive academic conference.  To be 
considered for the 2006 award, works should be published or presented in 
2004 or 2005.

Those interested please submit a copy of their works electronically to 
Mark D. Johns, executive director of CCCSIR, at johnsmar at luther.edu in 
plain text, Microsoft Word, or Corel WordPerfect format. If the work 
submitted is a paper, a 100-word abstract needs to be included. Paper 
length is limited to 30 pages plus references.  If a book is submitted, 
a copy of the table of contents and one chapter are sufficient. The 
application deadline is April 1, 2006.  Notification of award 
application will be sent out by June 15.

The Award winner will receive the Carey Award plaque to be presented at 
the winner’s choice of the 2006 annual convention of the International 
Communication Association (ICA), Association for Education in Journalism 
and Mass Communication (AEJMC), or National Communication Association 

Questions and comments about the Carey Award, please contact:

Mark D. Johns
Dept. of Communication Studies
Luther College
Decorah, IA 52101
Tel: (563) 387-1347
E-mail: johnsmar at luther.edu


Shing-Ling S. Chen
Dept. of Communication Studies
Univ. of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA 50614
Tel: (319) 273-6021
E-mail: chen at cccsir.org

More information about the Air-L mailing list