[Air-L] Call for Papers: 2010 AEJMC Midwinter Conference

Jacob Groshek jgroshek at gmail.com
Thu Nov 19 09:25:32 PST 2009


March 5-7, 2010

Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication

 University of Oklahoma

(Link to conference web page through http://www.ou.edu/gaylord)

The AEJMC Midwinter Conference is an annual forum for the presentation of
research and debate in areas relevant to the 12 AEJMC groups (divisions,
interest groups and commissions) sponsoring the event. It follows a rather
informal structure that allows for presentations and extended discussions in
a relaxed setting. The upcoming conference is scheduled for March 5-7, 2010
at the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication (University of
Oklahoma) in Norman, Oklahoma. The location offers participants many winter
diversions outside the conference activities, including world-class museums
and art galleries.

Questions about paper and panel submissions must be directed to the
appropriate midwinter chairs below.  General questions about the conference
can be sent to Elanie Steyn, Conference Site Host (elanie at ou.edu).

Paper submissions: Authors should submit research paper proposals consisting
of a 300 to 500-word abstract by email to the midwinter chair (from the list
below) of the group (division/interest group/commission) they wish to submit
to. Please keep in mind that you can only submit any given paper abstract to
one of the groups participating in the conference – submitting the same
paper abstract to several groups is not allowed. Do not submit full papers.
The abstracts should give a clear sense of the scope of the research and the
method of inquiry. If researchers have completed their projects by the
submission deadline, paper abstracts should also include research
conclusions. Once their paper abstracts have been accepted, authors must
submit complete research papers (not exceeding 30 pages) to the discussant
of their session on the program. Discussants should receive full papers at
least two weeks before the conference. Keep in mind that papers presented at
this conference are also eligible for presentation at the AEJMC national
convention. Authors are encouraged to use the midwinter conference as an
opportunity to get feedback on their research, improve and finalize it for
submission to the national conference.

Panel submissions: Panel organizers should submit proposals to the midwinter
chair (from the list below) of the group (division/interest
group/commission) they wish to present the panel to. Panel submissions
should include the panel title, a description of the session’s focus, the
issues to be discussed, and a list of panelists (potential and confirmed),
including affiliation.

Format: Identify the paper’s author(s) or panel’s organizer(s) on the title
page only and include the mailing address, telephone number and e-mail
address of the person to whom inquiries should be addressed. The title
should be on the first page of the text and on running heads on each page of
text. Include your abstract or proposal as an attachment (saved with your
last name as file name) in a standard word-processing format (preferably
Word or RTF) and email it to the relevant midwinter chair. Also, ensure that
you remove any identifying information from your document (with the
exception of the title page).

Deadline: All submissions should reach the appropriate division/interest
group/commission’s midwinter paper chair (see below) by December 1,
2009.  Midwinter
chairs will notify authors of acceptances and rejections by January 6, 2010.

Registration: Details on conference registration, hotel accommodation, and
travel information will be available at http://www.ou.edu/gaylord.

AEJMC 2010 Midwinter Chairs by Division/Interest Group/Commission

Civic & Citizen Journalism Interest Group

Glenn Scott, Elon University (gscott3 at elon.edu)

Communication Technology Division

Jacob Groshek, Iowa State University (jgroshek at iastate.edu)

Commission on the Status of Women

Tracy Everbach, University of North Texas (everbach at unt.edu)

Cultural and Critical Studies Division

Jacque Lambiase, Texas Christian University (j.lambiase at tcu.edu)

Entertainment Studies Interest Group

Mina Tsay, Boston University (minatsay at bu.edu)

Graduate Education Interest Group

Erica Salkin, University of Wisconsin-Madison (salkin at wisc.edu)

International Communication Division

Melinda Robins, Emerson College (Melinda_Robins at emerson.edu)

Mass Communication & Society Division

Janet A. Bridges, Sam Houston State University (jab005 at shsu.edu)

Media Management and Economics Division

Susan Westcott Alessandri, Suffolk University, (salessandri at suffolk.edu)

Minorities and Communication Division

Frances Ward-Johnson, Elon University (Fward2 at elon.edu)

Religion and Media Interest Group

Amanda Sturgill, Baylor University (Amanda_Sturgill at baylor.edu)

Visual Communication Division

Jeremy Gilbert, Medill School Northwestern University (
jgilbert at northwestern.edu

Dr. Jacob Groshek
Assistant Professor
Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication
Iowa State University
(515) 294-0485
jgroshek at iastate.edu

More information about the Air-L mailing list