[Air-L] CITASA Student Paper Award (Deadline March 15)

danah boyd aoir.z3z at danah.org
Tue Feb 15 14:45:54 PST 2011

CITASA's Student Paper Award recognizes a published or unpublished paper/book chapter, or the design or use of a communication or information technology that provides an exceptional contribution to the sociology of communications or the sociology of information technology.The award is open to students in other disciplines than sociology. Students do not need to be members of ASA or CITASA. 

Authorship: Books, chapters, articles, papers and computing applications may have multiple authors. In the case of student-faculty collaborations, the student must be the lead or senior author. Authors need not have a degree in sociology or be in a sociology department to be considered for an award. Submissions must be in English and written within the two calendar years prior to the award deadline for nominations. There are no limitations on length. 

All materials for this award are due March 15, 2011.

Please send a copy of your paper, relevant information about the paper or technology, and a brief bio that includes university affiliation and expected graduation date to: 

Chair: danah boyd, dmb at microsoft.com
Committee members: Anabel Quan-Haase, aquan at uwo.ca and Ellis Godard, ellis.godard at csun.edu 

Past Student Paper Award Winners: 
- 2010 - Lauren F. Sessions, University of Pennsylvania
- 2009 - Daniel A. Menchik and Xiaoli Tian, University of Chicago
- 2008 - Steven G. Hoffman, Northwestern University
- 2008 - Alison Powell, Concordia University
- 2007 - Lee Humphries, University of Pennsylvania
- 2006 - Sara Nephew, Princeton University
- 2005 - Laura Robinson, UCLA 
- 2005 - Sean Zehnder, Northwestern University (software)
- 2004 - Jeffrey Boase, University of Toronto
- 2003 - Tracy Kennedy and Kristine Klement, University of Toronto
- 2002 - Julian Dierkes, University of British Columbia



More information about the Air-L mailing list