[Air-L] James W. Carey Media Research Award 2011

Mark D. Johns mjohns at luther.edu
Wed Feb 16 07:50:13 PST 2011


James W. Carey Media Research Award 2011
Sponsored by the
Carl Couch Center for Social and Internet Research

The Carl Couch Center invites self-nominations for works to be
considered for its annual James W. Carey Media Research Award.  The
Couch Center welcomes works on topics that have been central to
Carey's scholarship. Submissions might focus on technology, time,
space and communication, the nature of public life, the relation
between journalism and popular culture -- among others -- taking these
themes in new or different directions. Applications will be evaluated
based on engagement with Carey's approaches and concepts, originality,
and advancement of knowledge.  Evaluation will be administered by a
Review Committee of:
	 Prof. Stuart Adam, Carleton University
	 Prof. Theodore L. Glasser, Stanford University
	 Prof. John Pauly, Marquette University
	 Prof. Jeff Pooley, Muhlenberg College
	 Prof. Linda Steiner, University of Maryland
	 Prof. Lance Strate, Fordham University

Both single and multiple authored works will be accepted.  All
submissions must be works that have been published or have been
accepted for publication in a book or journal. To be considered for
the 2011 award, works should have been published or accepted in 2010.

Those interested please submit a copy of their works electronically to
Mark D. Johns, executive director of CCCSIR, at mjohns at luther.edu in
plain text, Microsoft Word, Corel WordPerfect, or Adobe Acrobat
format. If the work submitted is a paper, a 100-word abstract needs to
be included. Paper length is limited to 30 pages plus references. If a
book is submitted, a copy of the table of contents and one chapter are
sufficient. The application deadline is April 1, 2011. Notification of
award application will be sent out by June 15.

The Award winner will receive the Carey Award plaque to be presented
at the winner's choice of the 2011 annual convention of the
International Communication Association (ICA), Association for
Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), or National
Communication Association (NCA).

Questions and comments about the Carey Award, please contact:

Mark D. Johns
Dept. of Communication Studies
Luther College
Decorah, IA 52101
Tel: (563) 387-1347
E-mail: mjohns at luther.edu


Shing-Ling S. Chen
Dept. of Communication Studies
Univ. of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA 50614
Tel: 319-273-6021
E-mail: sarina.chen at uni.edu

More information about the Air-L mailing list