[Air-L] I AMPRA - V ICUP Conference - Call for papers

Pilar Garces pilar_garces at yahoo.com
Fri Oct 28 07:45:46 PDT 2011

1st International Pragmatics Conference of the Americas and the 5th International Conference on Intercultural Pragmatics 
October 19-21, 2012, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, USA
The goal of the joint conference is to promote both theoretical and applied research in pragmatics, and bring together scholars who are interested in different subfields of pragmatics (philosophical, linguistic, cognitive, social, intercultural, interlanguage, etc.). Three parallel sessions will be held on the following topics:
(i)                 Pragmatics theories: neo-Gricean approaches, relevance theory, theory of mind, meaning, role of context, semantics-pragmatics interface, explicature, implicature, speech act theory, presuppositions, im/politeness, experimental pragmatics, etc.
(ii)               Intercultural, cross-cultural an societal aspects of pragmatics: research involving more than one language and culture or varieties of one language, lingua franca, technologically mediated communication, bilinguals’ language use, intercultural misunderstandings, effect of dual language and multilingual systems on the development and use of pragmatic skills, etc.
(iii)             Applications: usage and corpus-based approaches, pragmatic competence, teachability and learnability of pragmatic skills, pragmatic variations within one language and across languages, developmental pragmatics, etc.
Conference website
http://clas-pages.uncc.edu/ampra/  (under development; further information will be added when available)
Email address for inquires
AmPra12 at gmail.com
Confirmed plenary speakers 
Laurence Horn (Yale University)
Kasia Jaszczolt (University of Cambridge)
Istvan Kecskes (State University of New York, Albany)
Robin Lakoff (University of California, Berkeley)
John Perry (Stanford University)
Pilar Garcés Blitvich  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Istvan Kecskes (State University of New York at Albany)
Brittany Stone  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Organizing committee
Boyd Davis      (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Ron Lunsford  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Ralf Thiede      (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Deborah Bosley (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Elizabeth Miller  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Becky Roeder  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Ashlyn Williams (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Abby M. Dobs(Penn State University)
Katie Ledford  (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Sponsored by
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (UNC Charlotte)
Department of English (UNC Charlotte)
Intercultural Pragmatics Journal (Mouton de Gruyter)
Scientific committee 
Barbara Abbott (Michigan State University)
Anne Barron (University of Lunenburg)
Anne Bezuidenhout (University of South Carolina at Columbia)
Adriana Bolívar (Central University of Venezuela)   
Patricia Bou-Franch (Universitat de Valencia)
Richard Brecht (CASL, University of Maryland)
Noel Burton-Roberts (Newcastle University)
Alessandro Capone (University of Palermo)
Carmen Curco (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Dan Davidson (Bryn Mawr College)
Wayne Davis (Georgetown University)
Susan Ehrlich (York University)
Bruce Fraser (Boston University)
Anita Fetzer (University of Wurzburg)
Susan Gal (University of Chicago)
Ray Gibbs (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Michael Haugh (Griffith University)
Gabriele Kasper (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Silvia Kaul de Marlangeon (National University of Río Cuarto, Argentina)
Mohammad Hossein Keshavarz (Teacher Training University, Tehran)
Dale Koike (University of Texas, Austin)
Kepa Korta (Universidad del Pais Vasco)
Maxim Kronhaus (Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow)
Juana Marin-Arrese (Universidad Complutense, Madrid)
Jacob Mey (University of Southern Denmark)
Jacques Moeschler (University of Geneva)
Eniko Nemeth (University of Szeged)
María Laura Pardo (Universidad de Buenos Aires)
Lluis Payrato (Universitat de Barcelona)
Ana Cristina Pelosi de Macedo, (Federal University of Ceara, Brazil)
Jesus Romero-Trillo (Autonomous University of Madrid)
Sukriye Ruhi (Middle East Technical University, Ankara)
Leonel Ruiz-Miyares (Centro de Linguística Aplicada, Santiago de Cuba)
Louis de Saussure (Université de Neuchâtel)
Jiang Wangqi, (Peking University, Beijing)
Anna Wierzbicka (Australian National University)
Mary Wildner-Bassett (University of Arizona)
Deirdre Wilson (University of London)
Andre Wlodarczyk (University of Paris, Sorbonne)
Call for papers
Abstracts (max. 300 words) are invited for papers on any topic relevant to the fields of pragmatics and intercultural communication.
On-line submission is at
as an email attachment to AmPra12 at gmail.com
Abstract deadline: 15, April 2012
Notification of acceptance: 1st June, 2012
Please, include your name, affiliation and e-mail address. Abstracts will be double-blind peer-reviewed, and should include sufficient details to allow reviewers to judge the scientific merits of the work. Paper presentations will be allowed 20 minutes, plus 10 minutes for questions. All presentations will be in English.
Three volumes of selected papers (theories; applications; intercultural aspects): Mouton de Gruyter, John Benjamins, and Cambridge Scholars Publishing
Conference fee 
Regular registration: $180 (includes coffee breaks)
Early bird registration (before 30 June 2010): $150
Students (with valid I.D.): $80
Universityof North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
CenterCity Building
Information forthcoming
Information forthcoming

More information about the Air-L mailing list