[Air-l] CFP: Flow Conference 2006

Nick Muntean nmuntean at gmail.com
Fri May 19 09:51:12 PDT 2006

CFP: Flow Conference 2006

The Flow Conference (Oct. 26 -29, 2006; Austin, TX) -- a series of
roundtable discussions with topics created by Flow columnists
organized around the future of television and media culture -- is now
accepting submissions to join a roundtable.  Deadline for submission
is: June 15, 2006.

The goal of the Flow Conference is conversation. There are no plenary
sessions, and participants are asked to submit short position papers
(not full-length essays). We want to promote discussion amongst
scholars, members of the media industries, media activists, fans, and
policy-makers over crucial issues related to television and media.

For the list of roundtable topics, please visit the conference
website at: www.flowconference.org.  To join a roundtable, submit a
250 word abstract identifying the roundtable in which you want to
and detailing your response to the topic statement, and a short bio,
flowconference at utlists.utexas.edu.

Roundtable organizers include: Chris Anderson, Tim Anderson, Patricia
Aufderheide, Aniko Bodroghkozy, Will Brooker, Faye Ginsburg, Jonathan
Gray, Mary Beth Haralovich, John Hartley, James Hay, Heather
Hendershot, Henry Jenkins, Douglas Kellner, L.S. Kim, Derek Kompare,
Shanti Kumar, Dan Leopard, Daniel Marcus, Vicki Mayer, Allison
McCracken, John McMurria, Tara McPherson, Walter Metz, Jason Mittell,
Megan Mullen, Horace Newcomb, Laurie Ouellette, Thomas Schatz, Joe
Straubhaar, Sharon Strover, Frederick Wasser.

For more information, please visit our website,
http://www.flowconference.org , or email us at
flowconference at utlists.utexas.edu.

Michael Kackman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Radio-TV-Film
University of Texas at Austin
mkackman at mail.utexas.edu

More information about the Air-l mailing list