[Air-L] CFP 'Hard Science? Sex, Science and Technology'

Kate O'Riordan K.ORiordan at sussex.ac.uk
Mon Jul 4 03:19:38 PDT 2011

Reminder: CfP for BSSN Conference on 'Hard Science? Sex, Science and Technology', deadline July 20th 2011

The theme for the 5th Annual Brighton and Sussex Sexualities Network Conference is "Hard Science? Sex, Science and Technology". This 1-day conference will take place on Thursday 15th September 2011, 9am-6pm in Brighton. The conference is also part of the 'Digital Brighton' festival.

We are delighted to confirm the following keynote speakers:
-	Mary L Gray, Indiana University
-	Campbell Ex, Filmmaker
-	Stuart Lorimer and Christina Richards, Charing Cross Gender Identity Clinic

Conveners of this interdisciplinary conference now welcome proposals from activists, academics, scholars, members of the LGBT community and community groups, students, documentary and film-makers, writers and artists. 

Email proposals (up to 300 words) to: bssn at brighton.ac.uk
The closing date for the submission of proposals is July 20th 2011.

We encourage submissions that address a broad range of questions in research and practice on sex, sexuality, queer etc. Presentations might examine the following topics:

-	Old and new media
-	Hacking, hackers and techno activism 
-	Online identities
-	Pornography
-	Sexuality and disabilities
-	Sex work
-	Race
-	Scientists, technologists and engineers
-	Archives
-	Human-Computer Interactions
-	Drugs
-	Sex toys
-	Crafts
-	Health and care
-	Science fiction
-	Bodies 
-	Digital humanities
-	Crip theory
-	Reproductive technologies
-	Design interactions
-	Queering science and technology 
-	Technological determinism / Social constructivism
-	Virtuality 
-	Cyber and conic
-	Medicalizations 
-	Embodiment and biotechnology 

The conference organizers welcome proposals for (a) Individuals papers (b) Sessions (c) Round table discussions (d) workshops and (e) visual presentations or performances. 

Registration for the conference will open on July 31st 2011.

For more information about the conference and BSSN, please see:

The conference organizing committee is:
Georgina Voss
Kath Browne
Shamira Meghani
Nick McGlynn
Irmi Karl
Sharif Mowlabocus
Olu Jensen
Kate O'Riordan

More information about the Air-L mailing list